things i wish i knew before applying to grad school

While completing your undergraduate degree, get involved in labs within your university to have greater knowledge of what it means to pursue research in that subfield; this will help with narrowing down your interests in preparation for graduate school. Everyone is putting in time and money to develop the skills or reputation you need to succeed in a chosen career path. To be honest, I was a geek in undergrad, but I wasn’t that serious. Setting strict time restrictions for each section of your practice exam (e.g., 3 minutes less per section) may help you better manage the time limit during the GRE.To summarize, there is no one-size-fits-all formula for applying to graduate school. I remember meeting one of the student’s in my program for the first time, “a colleague” as they say.

© 2020. Everyone is putting in time and money to develop the skills or reputation you need to succeed in a chosen career path. Since summer is filled with distractions, it is important to make a schedule with deadlines for what you will need to submit.

Why? So, if you are not someone who likes to write, tough it out. Setting strict time restrictions for each section of your practice exam (e.g., 3 minutes less per section) may help you better manage the time limit during the GRE.To summarize, there is no one-size-fits-all formula for applying to graduate school. I lucked out. Grad school can be an extremely exciting period in your life. Home › Thoughts and Perspectives › 15 Things I Wish I Knew Before Starting Graduate School. You’re treated no less than criminal when you don’t give credit where credit is due.Proper APA citation was and is required often times to receive good grades. Luckily, there are APA style guides online that are very handy, such as the And you need good writing tools, too. As someone who has recently gone through the process, here are four tips I wish I had known before applying: 1.